Unemployment insurance eligibility in Delaware is determined by specific regulations. Both initial eligibility for unemployment and eligibility after you have been accepted into the DE program are governed by these rules. The regulations involve how you were separated from work, your ability to work, your availability to work, your continued search for work, and your willingness to accept a job for which you are reasonably qualified.
To answer your questions about who qualifies for unemployment and what are the requirements to get unemployment, read the following sections:
One of the first qualifications for unemployment in Delaware concerns how you became separated from your job. You must be partially or totally out of work through no fault of your own. Being fired from your job or quitting your job means that you do not meet this qualification. However, you may well be eligible for unemployment insurance if you were laid off or had your hours reduced.
It there are any eligibility issues concerning the reasons for your separation from work, you will not receive any benefits until the issue is resolved. If you file online, a questionnaire regarding your work separation will be mailed to you. You must complete the questionnaire and return it to the division with 10 days of the mailing date. If you file in person, you are required to fill out the questionnaire at the time of filing.
Additionally, the following qualifications for unemployment must also be kept in mind:
Regarding self-employment, if you file an unemployment claim while you are self-employed, or you become self-employed while collecting unemployment insurance benefits, you are required to report this information to the division. These benefits are intended to support stable employment, not the early stages of a new business or self-employed individuals whose projects have not been profitable.
Another requirement of eligibility for unemployment insurance in Delaware is to meet the state regulations for wages earned and time worked during a set period of time known as the base period. The amount of money you were paid during your base period, which is the first four of the last five completed calendar quarters, determines your weekly benefit amount (WBA).
If you have monetary eligibility for unemployment insurance benefits, your Notice of Monetary Determination will show your weekly benefit amount and the maximum amount of benefits you may be eligible to receive.
Always check this notice to see that:
If you believe that an error was made, report to the local unemployment insurance office where you filed your claim within 10 days, and request a correction. You must bring the Notice of Monetary Determination, your Social Security card, check stubs, W-2 forms, and any other proof of wages that you have. Your request for a correction will not be accepted if it is given after the 10-day stipulation. While you await the result of the protest, you must continue to file weekly claims.
Note: If 75 percent or more of your base period wages are from seasonal employment (in which you are employed by an identified seasonal employer, as defined by Delaware law), you will only be eligible to receive benefits for those months in which you were employed.